Are you “maid” of money?

20 Jun

I saw this graphic circulating around Twitter last week from Mint.com showing how much it costs to be a bridesmaid. When my friends got engaged last year and they asked me to be in their weddings, I didn’t flinch, saying yes immediately. I thought of everything exciting and fun to come: helping plan the shower/bachelorette, trying on dresses, walking down the aisle, etc. etc. I didn’t think about the expenses, and while I knew it would cost me money, I wasn’t thinking as practically. Looking back now, I wish I had saved a bit more in anticipation of what was to come.  I could never not be in their bridal parties, as they are my best friends and it’s such an honor!

(click to enlarge)

At any rate, Mint.com shows the breakout of what it costs to be a bridesmaid, on average, and gives tips to save.  I, luckily, will not have plane travel costs associated with any of my weddings (well except one, but I am a guest).

What do you think about the costs of being in a bridal party?  Would you hesitate to accept the honor of being a bridesmaid or Maid of Honor because of the financial committment?

via Smart Bride Boutique

2 Responses to “Are you “maid” of money?”

  1. Melissa 06/25/2011 at 6:03 pm #

    I like these tips! Unfortunately the chart leaves out cost of hotel for bachelorette and wedding weekends if you’re an out town bridesmaid! I don’t think the cost would make me say no to being a bridesmaids, but it’s nice if a bride helps out to reduce the cost.

  2. 27messes 06/20/2011 at 11:59 am #

    this is amazing! great find!

Leave a Reply

