An Interview with twobirds

1 Jun

After seeing an episode of Tori & Dean: sTORIbook Weddings that featured twobirds bridesmaid dresses, I immediately Googled the company, as I was intrigued about the dresses that you can wear 15 ways. Founder Ariane Goldman was nice enough to answer a few of my questions!

Tell us, how did twobirds get started? How did you think of the name “twobirds”?  twobirds began when I was planning my wedding and realized there was nothing out there for my bridesmaids with various body types. I had a vintage Norma Kamali dress that wrapped in various ways, and I thought that’s exactly what I wanted for my friends- for them to look similar but have individuality to flatter their different body types.  “twobirds” comes from the notion that you are killing two birds with one dress since you are wearing it again after the wedding.

What is the design process? From where (or who or what) do you draw your inspiration? Comfort. I like the idea of women being at ease in their outfit and body, as that’s where the biggest smiles come from.

Who are your favorite designers? Are they mostly bridal or high fashion, mass retail, etc. I love Philip Lim, Stella MCartney, TopShop, Lanvin, and I wear a lot of vintage.  I think mixing and matching pieces from high-end and vintage. It is a great way to express versatile style.

How does your personal style & taste reflect in the designs? Comfort, ease, liking to be covered up one moment and a bit revealing the next. The twobirds dresses allow you to be all of those things, depending on how you wrap it.

Have you encountered any “bridezillas” or even “bridesmaidzillas” over the years? All the time! But it’s of no bother as I’ve been there too and the wedding is the most important day of most girls lives thus far.  Hopefully, the twobirds dresses can put them at ease as all of her friends will be smiling.

What is next for twobirds? HATCH by twobirds which consists of dresses that pregnant women can invest in and wear again after the baby comes, just like you can wear the bridesmaid dresses after the wedding.

Thank you, Ariane! Check out their website (which is adorable, btw) for much more and to see all of the dresses.

5 Responses to “An Interview with twobirds”

  1. jacin {lovely little details} 06/02/2011 at 9:37 pm #

    very cool!

  2. theluckyelephant 06/01/2011 at 7:10 pm #

    The ivory dress especially is to die for!

  3. Diana (Wedding.allwomenstalk.com) 06/01/2011 at 2:53 pm #

    I love that last dress and that they are coming up with a new line for pregnant women! Great interview!

    • Jaime 06/01/2011 at 3:28 pm #

      Thanks! I know- very smart! The name HATCH is so cute too.

  4. Perpetually Engaged 06/01/2011 at 12:31 pm #

    I wanted these for my wedding a few years ago. So many more color options now!

Leave a Reply

