Mission MOH speech: Complete!

8 Sep

On Saturday I finally gave my maid of honor speech at the A’s wedding! I was very nervous about the speech leading up to my moment. I went through several drafts and couldn’t have done it without the proof-reading help of my mom and brother (thank you!).

(that’s me!)

I started out with a story of how the bride and I met, continued on into how friendship has grown, then included thoughts about her now husband. I ended using the first few lines from the poem I Carry Your Heart by e.e. Cummings .

I had a bit of trouble with the microphone, but overall was very happy with how the speech turned out- I got lots of compliments after too! ¬†I didn’t cry but was shaking some- as I predicted. These toast giving tips (here and here) really helped, and the only thing I would say is practice, practice, practice! I only did a few times and once in front of the mirror. If I do it again, practicing will be my mantra. Also- have fun! I had to remind myself why I was giving this speech and it helped me not to be so scared.

PS: It’s been a while(!) and now that the craziness of my summer weddings is nearly over- just one more to go on September 24th- I will be posting more regularly. I have lots to share with you!

4 Responses to “Mission MOH speech: Complete!”

  1. K 11/26/2013 at 12:02 am #

    loving the research – I have a ton of blog articles to write about this subject so this is all helping.

  2. cheap all inclusive holidays 07/28/2013 at 7:39 am #

    Piece of writing writing is also a fun, if you know afterward you can write otherwise it
    is difficult to write.

  3. loana video 07/23/2013 at 9:56 am #

    Great post. I used to be checking continuously this weblog and I am
    impressed! Extremely helpful information specifically
    the ultimate section :) I care for such info much.

    I used to be looking for this certain information
    for a very lengthy time. Thanks and best of luck.

  4. Nikki 09/11/2011 at 3:13 pm #

    I love that poem! Looks like you did great and your hair looks gorgeous!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 29 other followers

