More Wedding Speech Tips

29 Aug

I posted a bunch of tips earlier this summer for making a maid of honor wedding toast/speech. With my big MOH toast just 5 days away, the nerves are really setting in. The speech is written and I’ve practiced a few times, as practice makes perfect!, but I am now getting nervous for how I am going to be during the toast. Will I cry too much or shake too much?  I know a sip of champagne…or two, or three, or four…will help calm my nerves, but can I really make it through it!?

I found this How to Write a Wedding Toast post on A Practical Wedding, that really helped me write/format my speech.  They suggest splitting the toast into four parts:

Part 1: I love you both so much.
Part 2: A lovely anecdote about the couple’s relationship and how awesome they are. (This should be the bulk of your speech.)
Part 3: I hope you are always as happy, joyous, and in love as that moment. OR This proves how madly in love you two are. May you continue to be an inspiration to us all. Etc.
Part 4. (Actually make the toast.) Everyone drinks!

I am also heeding the advice to keep it short and sweet, not only for the listeners’ sake, but my own!

Wish me luck!

image via Etsy

One Response to “More Wedding Speech Tips”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Mission MOH speech: Complete! « - 09/08/2011

    [...] too!  I didn’t cry but was shaking some- as I predicted. These toast giving tips (here and here) really helped, and the only thing I would say is practice, practice, practice! I only did a few [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 29 other followers

